Anjum wins title in National Shooting C’Ship, let’s congratulate her

It was yet another good day for Indian athletes at the 63rd National Shooting Championship Competition in Bhopal as country’s top rifle and pistol shooters carried their impeccable form to come out on top. Anjum Moudgil stole the spotlight as she won the women’s 50m rifle 3 positions title.

It is worth mentioning here that she won the title for the third consecutive year and Tokyo 2020 quota holders namely Abhishek Verma and Yashaswini Singh Deswal were crowned national champions in the 10m air pistol mixed team competition.

Credits: IndiaTimes

Anjum Moudgil was in sensational form throughout the day as she topped qualification with as many as 1172 points. She was just ahead of Raj Chaudhary of Haryana who finished second with 1164. She also shot 449.9 in the finals to win gold medal, leaving Tamil Nadu’s N. Gaayathri 2.6 points behind for silver medal.

Haryana’s Nishchal won a bronze medal in the women’s 3P while also clinching the junior women’s 3P title with 451.9 in the junior final. Anjum also bagged the team gold in the category for Punjab.

In the 10m air pistol mixed team events, the Haryana duo- Abhishek Verma and Yashaswini Deswal got the better of Maharashtra’s Harshada Nithave and Aniket 16-10 in the final. Manu Bhaker and Sarabjot in the junior final were much more comfortable as they came through flying colours with 16-8 win over Punjab’s Khushseerat and Arshdeep Banga.

Manu Bhaker was the talk of the town for winning the women’s and junior gold medals in air pistol after scoring a high 588 in qualification, in the 63rd National shooting championship on Tuesday.

Manu got the better of Devanshi Dhama by 5.2 points for the women’s gold, while the other Olympic quota winner Yashaswini Singh Deswal settled for the bronze medal.

It is also worth mentioning here that Shweta Singh, Annu Raj Singh, Harveen Srao, Ruchita Vinerkar and Rahi Sarnobat were the other women athletes who made it to the final.

As far as the junior section is concerned, Manu outsmarted Sharvari Bhoir 2.1 point for the gold medal, while Devanshi Dhama settled for the bronze.