Salary of 14 popular CMs in India, check out who is highest paid?

The Chief Minister holds a pivotal position in the working of the State Government. He has enormous powers and vast responsibilities. A CM looks after the development of his state. The Chief Minister of a state is the leader of MLAs in the State Assembly while the Prime Minister is the leader of MPs in the Lok Sabha.

The salary of Chief Ministers in India varies from state to state. The Chief Minister of Telangana receives the highest salary as compared to other CMs in the country.

The salary of the chief minister of a particular state is decided by state legislature, according to article 164 of the Indian constitution. The chief minister is paid for serving the state and looking after its welfare.

Let’s take a glimpse at the top 10 Chief Ministers of India and their salaries:

1. Salary of Telangana Chief Minister:

KC Rao
KC Rao

Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhar Rao

tops the list with ₹410,000 (US$5,700) monthly salary. He is the highest-paid Chief Minister in India.

2. Salary of Delhi Chief Minister:

View this post on Instagram

Chief Minister Kejriwal

A post shared by The Youth (@theyouth2u) on

The Chief Minister of Delhi Arvind Kejriwal is placed second in this list. He receives a monthly salary of ₹400,000 (US$5,600). Born 16 August 1968, Arvind Kejriwal took office as the Chief Minister of Delhi on 28 December 2013. The Arvind Kejriwal-led party won 62 seats in Delhi Assembly Elections held in February 2020. Kejriwal took oath for the third time as the chief minister of Delhi.

3. Salary of Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh:

The third-place goes to the Chief Minister of Uttar Pradesh Yogi Adityanath. Mr. Yogi assumed office on March 19, 2017. Adityanath’s monthly salary is ₹365,000 (US$5,100).

48-year-old Yogi Adityanth was born on 5 June 1972 in small district Panchur (Uttarakhand). He is known for his provocative speeches.

Though he is the CM of 200 million people in India, yet his family members still lead an ordinary life in the village he was born. His elder sister sells flowers at a shop near a temple to obtain her livelihood.

4. Salary of Chief Minister of Maharashtra:

Shiv Sena president Uddhav Thackeray took oath as the Chief Minister of Maharashtra on 28 November 2019. The monthly salary of Maharashtra CM is ₹340,000 (US$4,800).

Thackeray never dreamt of becoming chief minister. However, It was like a dream come true for Uddhav Thackeray when he became CM for the first time in his political career. The Shiv Sena broke all ties with Bharatiya Janata Party and joined hands with the Congress and Natioalist Congress (NCP) to form government in Maharashtra.

5. Salary of Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh:

Y.S. Jagan Mohan Reddy is the 17th and current Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh. Reddy’s monthly salary is ₹335,000 (US$4,700).

6. Salary of Chief Minister of Gujarat:

Vijay Ramniklal Rupani is an Indian politician from the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). He is the incumbent Chief Minister of Gujarat since August 7, 2016 and a member of the Gujarat Legislative Assembly representing Rajkot West. His monthly salary is ₹321,000 (US$4,500).

7. Salary of Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh:

Jai Ram Thakur is the current Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh. He got married to Dr. Sadhna Singh from Jaipur. The couple has two daughters. Salary of Himachal Pradesh’s Chief Minister is ₹310,000 (US$4,300) per month.

8. Salary of Chief Minister of Haryana:

Manohar Lal Khattar is the first BJP leader to be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Haryana on 26 October 2014. He has worked for almost 40 years as a Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh (RSS) Pracharak. The monthly salary of Haryana’s CM is ₹288,000 (US$4,000).

9. Salary of Chief Minister of Jharkhand:

Hemant Soren is the son of formidable tribal leader Shibu Soren, who has also served as the third chief minister of the state. Before becoming the chief minister, Hemant also served as Rajya Sabha MP from 2009 to 2010.

The salary of Jharkhand’s CM is ₹272,000 (US$3,800). Recently, the Government of Jharkhand has given special permission to buy a lavish car BMW for the Chief Minister Hemant Soren.

10. Salary of Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh:

Shivraj Singh Chouhan is the longest-serving Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh. Chouhan became the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh in 2005 for the first time in his career. Mr. Chouhan receives a monthly salary of ₹255,000 (US$3,600).

Shivraj Singh Chouhan once again assumed office as the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh on 23 March 2020 after Congress leader Jyotiraditya Scindia along with 22 MLAs joined BJP.

11. Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh:

Born on 23 August 1961, Bhupesh Baghel is serving as the third and current Chief Minister of Chhattisgarh. He receives a monthly salary of ₹230,000 (US$3,200).

12. Chief Minister of Punjab:

Amarinder Singh is the current Chief Minister of Punjab. He draws ₹230,000 (US$3,200) monthly salary.

13. Chief Minister of Goa:

Pramod Pandurang Sawant is the 11th and current Chief Minister of Goa. He receives ₹220,000 (US$3,100) monthly salary. Pramod Sawant succeeded Manohar Parrikar as the CM of Goa. Manohar Parrikar passed away after he lost a battle with pancreatic cancer.

14. Chief Minister of Bihar:

Nitish Kumar is the present and 22nd Chief Minister of Bihar. Recently CM Nitish Kumar wrote a letter to the Central Government demanding a CBI probe into the death of Bollywood actor Sushant Singh Rajput. The salary of Bihar’s CM is ₹215,000 (US$3,000) per month.

Writer, historian, and activist Dharam Sikarwar is a very active author The Youth. He writes on national and international issues, environment, politics. He is an avid book reader as well.