RBI declares holidays: Banks will remain closed for 16 days in Jan 2020, check out the list

People are very excited as they are going to enter in 2020, but news came from RBI for customers that banks will remain closed for 16 days including all public holidays in January 2020. The holidays may differ from bank to bank or from one state to another. The Reserve Bank of India has released the state-wise bank holidays list.

It has been noted that people are all set to celebrate New Year 2020 on 1st January, so banks are supposed to be closed on 1st January as well. Four Sundays and two Saturdays fall in the list of January 2020 holidays. Customers are advised to plan their bank-related work in advance keeping the bank holidays in mind, so as to avoid last-minute cash crunch problems. Republic Day will fall on Sunday in the month of January 2020 which is the only national holiday this month. 

Here is a list of holidays in January 2020

January 1: All the banks across India will remain closed on account of New Year’s Day.

January 2: On account of Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti, banks will be closed in many states.

January 5: Sunday

January 7: Banks in Imphal will be closed due to Imoinu Iratpa celebrations

January 8: Banks in Imphal will be closed on account of Gaan-Ngai

January 11: Second Saturday

January 12: Sunday

January 14: Makar Sankranti

January 15: Uttarayaana Punyakaala Makara Sankranti Festival/Pongal/Magh Bihu and Tusu Puja

January 16: Banks in Chennai will be closed on account of Thiruvalluvar Day

January 17: Banks in Chennai will remain closed due to Uzhavar Thirunal celebrations.

January 19: Sunday

January 23: Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose birth anniversary, banks in Agartala and Kolkata will remain closed.

January 25: Fourth Saturday

January 26: Sunday

January 30: Saraswati Puja/Basanta Panchami

Writer, historian, and activist Dharam Sikarwar is a very active author The Youth. He writes on national and international issues, environment, politics. He is an avid book reader as well.