Lesser-Known Facts about IPL which only 1 out of 100 people would know

Indian Premier League (IPL) is the most-watched T20 tourney in the world. IPL was launched after India won the inaugural edition of the ICC T20 World Cup 2007 in South Africa. This gave birth to the country’s own franchise cricket tournament called the IPL.

It was launched in the year 2008 and the rest is history! It has successfully completed 15 seasons since its inception. Among the teams, Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians have been the most dominant clubs in the competition.

Mumbai Indians have won five titles, under the leadership of Rohit Sharma. On the other hand, Chennai Super Kings are the second-most successful team in the competition.

7 lesser-known facts about the cash-rich Indian Premier League you didn't know

Chennai Super Kings won as many as five titles in the competition. Kolkata Knight Riders are the third-most successful team in the tournament. They have won two titles. On the other hand, the likes of Rajasthan Royals, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Gujarat Titans, and Deccan Chargers Hyderabad have won a title apiece.

The IPL has produced so many brilliant and eye-catching moments for the viewers. Today, it is the most-followed T20 tournament in the world.

In this article, we will now take a look at the seven lesser-known facts about the IPL.

1. Did you know? The Most Valuable Player Award has only been earned by 2 Indians. They are none other than Virat Kohli and Sachin Tendulkar. Foreign players have dominated the league more often than not.

2. Royal Challengers Bangalore are the first team in the history of the IPL to score more than 250 and less than 50 runs in a single innings. This is indeed a crazy stat!

3. Surprisingly, Piyush Chawla has held a unique record and that is he hasn’t bowled a no-ball for 386 overs, which is an impressive statistic.

4. AB de Villiers (RCB) and Kieron Pollard (MI) are the only foreign players who have played more than 100 matches for the same franchise.

5. Did you know? One ball cost Star Sports Rs 21 lakhs. It’s an insane amount! As per a source, Star Sports paid a whopping 21 lakhs for telecasting one ball of IPL in the last two seasons, despite having spent a staggering 16347.5 million for the rights.

6. Virat Kohli is the leading run-scorer in the cash-rich Indian Premier League. He has been involved in 3 massive partnerships aggregating more than 200 runs (with Gayle once and AB de Villiers twice)

7. Did you know? Rohit Sharma has the most ducks in the history of the IPL. He has 16 ducks in his IPL career.