Besides Ambati Rayadu, here are top Indian cricketers who joined politics

Cricket in India is not only a game but it is also a symbol of emotions and passion of a common man. There are many cricketers in this society who not only showcase their power and skills on the cricket field but have also left their mark in politics. Here you will learn about ten Indian cricketers who have entered politics after their sports.

Manoj Tiwary: Before the assembly elections in West Bengal, cricketer Manoj Tiwary joined the Trinamool Congress. Tiwari joined TMC during Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee’s rally in Hooghly district. Sportspersons joining politics after retirement is a common sight across the world.

Gautam Gambhir: Former India opening batsman Gautam Gambhir joined the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in preparation for the 2019 Lok Sabha elections. Gambhir, who was a key member of India’s 2007 ICC World T20 and 2011 World Cup wins, took on Atishi Marlena, representing AAP, and Arvinder Singh Lovely of Congress during the Delhi elections.

Mohammed Azharuddin: Stylish Hyderabadi batsman Mohammed Azharuddin started his political innings in 2009 when he joined the Congress. Azhar became MP in 2009 by winning the general elections from Moradabad, Uttar Pradesh. However, the former India captain had to face defeat from Moradabad constituency in the 2014 Lok Sabha elections. Azharuddin was a brilliant middle-order batsman and led the Indian team in 47 Test matches during the 1990s.

Mansoor Ali Khan: Pataudi Former Indian captain Mansoor Ali Khan Pataudi was one of the first cricketers to join politics and contest elections. Despite the fact that former Prime Minister Rajiv Gandhi and Cricket World Cup-winning team captain Kapil Dev campaigned for him, he ultimately lost the election. After these defeats, Pataudi decided not to stick to the sticky side of politics and bid adieu.

Kirti Azad: Former all-rounder Kirti Azad, who was part of the 1983 World Cup-winning team, represented the BJP and won from Darbhanga constituency in Bihar thrice. In February 2019, he joined Congress. The son of former Bihar Chief Minister Bhagwat Jha Azad, Kirti Azad was an aggressive right-handed batsman and a fast off-spinner.

Navjot Singh Sidhu: Navjot Singh Sidhu, a minister in the Punjab government, started his political career in 2004 by contesting the Lok Sabha elections on a BJP ticket. Sidhu, who played 51 Tests and 136 ODIs for India, has achieved many achievements in his political career. In 2014, the BJP did not give him the ticket and gave the seat to the party’s chief strategist Arun Jaitley. In 2016, he was given Rajya Sabha ticket but he resigned.

Mohammad Kaif: Mohammad Kaif, who played 125 ODIs and 13 Tests between 2000 and 2006, joined the Congress and contested the Lok Sabha elections from Phulpur in Uttar Pradesh in 2014. He is considered one of the best fielders of the Indian cricket team due to his great athletic and throwing skills.

Chetan Chauhan: Chetan Chauhan, who was Sunil Gavaskar’s opening partner in Tests, has been MP twice from the Amroha seat of Uttar Pradesh. After his cricket career ended in 1981, he joined the Bharatiya Janata Party and entered politics. He serves as the Minister of Youth and Sports in Uttar Pradesh.

Manoj Prabhakar: Manoj Prabhakar was an all-rounder of the Indian cricket team. He played 39 Tests and 130 ODIs, scoring over 3,400 runs and taking 253 wickets. After retirement, he became a politician and is currently a member of the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).

Vinod Kambli: Former India Test batsman Vinod Kambli – known for his explosive batting as well as his flamboyant lifestyle, became the fastest Indian to complete 1000 Test runs. His progress was such that he crossed the 200-run barrier even before Tendulkar by scoring 227 runs against Zimbabwe in 1993. He tried his luck in politics. Lok Bharti Party made him its Vice President but he lost the 2009 assembly elections from Vikhroli (Mumbai) seat.

Sweta Dagar is an avid reader and writer. She hails from Bulandshahr (U.P) where she completed her formap education. She loves exploring varieties of topics that shape the public opinion at large. If you have any queries, feel free to contact her at [email protected].