Rohit Sharma surpasses Chris Gayle in terms of Most Sixes in international cricket, Chris Gayle reacts!

Indian captain Rohit Sharma etched his name into the record books after he surpassed Chris Gayle’s overall tally of 553 sixes in international cricket. Ahead of the World Cup 2023, Rohit Sharma was behind Gayle’s tally.

However, during the game against Afghanistan, Rohit Sharma smacked 5 sixes during his spectacular 131-run knock. In the process, he went past Gayle’s tally to score a total of 556 sixes in international cricket.

Chris Gayle, popularly known as the Universe Boss has hit a total of 553 sixes in international cricket. Meanwhile, Hitman Rohit Sharma broke the record and became the leading six-hitter in international cricket.

Meanwhile, Chris Gayle congratulated Rohit Sharma for his remarkable achievement. “Congrats @rohitsharma45, Most Sixes in International cricket Cricket #45 Special,” Gayle tweeted.

In reply, Rohit Sharma said, “Thanks CG 🤙 4&5 on the back but our favourite number is 6.”

In ODIs, Rohit Sharma has set multiple records, including the highest individual score in an ODI inning, scoring 264 runs against Sri Lanka in 2014. He is the first cricketer to score three double centuries in ODIs.

Rohit Sharma who is known for his elegant strokeplay and ability to score big runs, sscored seven centuries in the ODI World Cup, which is the most by a cricketer in the history of the marquee event.

Meanwhile, India have performed superbly well so far in the World Cup 2023. The Men in Blue won the first game against Australia by six wickets in Chennai before beating the Afghanistan cricket team by 8 wickets in Delhi.

India will lock horns with the Pakistan cricket team on October 14, Saturday at Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

India’s squad for World Cup 2023

Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav.