No impact of farmers’ protest, BJP secures a massive victory in this state

In a big win for BJP, the ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has won the Goa Zilla Panchayat election, securing 32 out of 49 seats, while the opposition Congress bagged just four.

The results were declared on Monday in which the BJP won 32 seats, Independents seven, the Congress four, the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) three while the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) and the Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) bagged one each.

Despite farmers’ protest against the new farm bills, BJP in Goa emerged as the winner by bagging 33 seats, out of which one seat it won unopposed. Farmers across several states are holding protests against the three farm bills passed by the Modi government. They have expressed their anger against the bills. 

The Aam Aadmi Party opened its account in the state for the first time winning a single seat. The Arvind Kejriwal-led party is looking forward to contesting on a majority of constituencies in the 2022 assembly polls, news agency PTI reported.

Goa Chief Minister Pramod Sawant expressed happiness over the BJP’s poll performance in the rural belt of the tourist state.

“I humbly bow down before the people of Goa for the trust they have reposed in the Bharatiya Janata Party as well as the Govt of Goa working under my leadership. Let us shape a glorious and Swayampurna [self-reliant] Goa by taking ahead the same trust and confidence, Sawant tweeted.

Later, addressing a press conference, he said the rural voters have shown their faith in the BJP’s leadership and the state government.

Pramod Sawant said the party has won with “huge margins” in many of the ZP constituencies.

BJP National President JP Nadda took to Twitter to congratulate Pramod Sawant and state president Sadanand Shet Tanavade on the party’s victory. He asserted that the Goa zilla panchayat election results show the faith of farmers, labourers, women and youth in the leadership of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and policies of the state government.

JP Nadda tweeted: “Congrats to CM @DrPramodPSawant ji, State President @ShetSadanand ji & @BJP4Goa unit for a remarkable victory in the Goa Zila Panchayat elections. This result shows the faith of Farmers, Labour, Women & Youth in the leadership of @narendramodi ji & policies of BJP govt in State.”

Writer, historian, and activist Dharam Sikarwar is a very active author The Youth. He writes on national and international issues, environment, politics. He is an avid book reader as well.